www.barrowvoice.co.uk - First Publised 1975
3,000 copies published quarterly and delivered FREE to all households in Barrow upon Soar

Charnwood Orchestra

Charnwood Orchestra’s first concert of their 2017/18 season will be in Holy Trinity Church Barrow upon Soar LE12 8HP on Saturday 23rd September 2017 starting at 19:30.

The orchestra will once again be conducted by Nic Fallowfield, performing a celebration of classical works including:

There will be an interval bar. Tickets cost £13, £11 (concessions) and £3 for accompanied children under 16. Tickets can be bought via Paypal from www.charnwoodorchestra.org.uk, at the Paper Shop in Barrow or on the door or by phoning 07718153117.

More about the pieces to be performed.

CPE Bach Symphony in D
The modern day orchestra can trace its roots back to the symphonies of CPE Bach, who set himself the challenge of writing works for a full orchestra featuring strings and wind sections. Horns and woodwind were no longer a decorative addition, but given their own specific roles. This symphony composed in 1775/76 is truly pioneering of its day adding colourful tones, dynamics and harmonies.

Mozart Flute Concerto No.1
This concerto was written in 1778, and was commissioned by the Dutch flautist Ferdinand De Jean, who had requested four quartets and 3 concertos for flute. Sadly only two of the three concertos were completed, this concerto in G being the first.

Gluck Dance of the Furies and Blessed Spirit.
Both these pieces from Gluck’s Opera Orpheus and Eurydice are some of the best known and loved pieces in the classical music repertoire. The Dance of the Blessed Sprits for solo flute with string accompaniment conjures up pastoral images of tranquility in stark contrast to the Dances of the Furies (hell).

Schubert Symphony No 5
Written in 1816, the symphony was first performed by a private orchestra that met in a friend’s house. It is regarded as the best of the six so called early symphonies preceding only the “Unfinished and “The Great”. It is an enchanting work, of four movements with echoes of Mozart, Haydn and Beethoven.